Department of Rheumatology, the First Affiliated Hospital, Sun Yat-sen University was founded in early 90’s of last century. It is one of the earliest Rheumatology departments set up in China. Under the leadership of:

Prof. Peida Ying (one of the pioneer rheumatologist in China)

Prof. Xiuyan Yang (former director)

Prof. Niansheng Yang (the present director)

Prof. Hanshi Xu (vice director)

the Department of Rheumatology is now a division of the Department of Medicine specialized in diagnosis and treatment of difficult and critical systemic rheumatic diseases. 

There are 13 doctors in the department with 5 full professors, 3 associate professors, 4 Ph.D postgraduate supervisors and 4 Master postgraduate supervisors. Most of staffs have Ph.D degree and have been trained oversea. This department is one of the earliest training bases for rheumatologist endorsed by the Ministry of Health and contributes to the textbook “Rheumatology & Immunology” for resident training as an associate editor. We have a member of the Standing Committee of the Chinese Rheumatology Society, a member of the Standing Committee of the China Doctor Association, and a vice-president of the Guangdong (Province) Society of Rheumatology. 

In the past five years, we have undertaken 11 grants from National Natural Science Foundation and more than 20 other grants from the government and published 30 publications in SCI-cited peer-reviewed international journals, including Arthritis & Rheumatology (3 papers), Journal of Autoimmunity and Journal of Immunology. By using the latest knowledges and advanced technology, we are specialized in the diagnosis and treatment of rheumatic diseases such as critical or severe systemic lupus erythematosus, vasculitis, fever of unknown origin, rheumatoid arthritis, ankylosing spondylitis, and dermatomyositis/polymyositis. Our major research focuses on the pathogenesis and treatment of systemic lupus erythematosus (lupus nephritis) and rheumatoid arthritis.