Department of Dermatology

Key Figures

Total 40 staff: 18 doctors, 22 nurses.

Total 21 Ward beds


The Department of Dermatology at the First Affiliated Hospital at Sun Yat-sen University was established in 1953. It is the first specialized department of dermatology in Guangdong province and has been entitled as “Provincial Key Clinical Specialty”. It is also a master-awarding and doctor-awarding branch founded by the National Health and Family Planning Commission, and one of the first standard training bases for visiting doctors and resident doctors in China. Its comprehensive strength in the aspects of medical treatment, medical teaching, scientific research and talent training is top-ranked national wide, and its reputation has extended to all over the region along Pearl River, and to the Hongkong and Macao districts.

Clinical Services

The division has a total of 9 specialized groups, which are composed by STD subspeciality, hair disorder subspeciality, vitiligo subspeciality, and so on. The unit has been granted by Dermato-venerology Branch of Chinese Medical Association as “Treatment Center for Psoriasis”, “Treatment Center for Urticaria” and “Research Center for Chlamydia trachoma Infection”. Medical service undertaken by the division covers the entire subjects involving dermatology and venerology. Recently, the department makes great efforts to carry out new techniques and innovations, such as NB-UVB, skin physiological function tester, electric dermoscopy, high-frequency electrosurgical generator, Q switch laser machine, solar simulator.


A total of six faculty are master supervisors and two members are doctoral supervisors. Our center pays meticulous attention to teaching work. We dedicate ourselves to teach medical college students, graduate students, residents, and visiting fellows from all over the country. We have cultivated a large number of excellent masters in dermatology and doctoral candidates.


In the past decade, the department has won 2 awards of National Natural Science Fund and 8 awards of provincial and ministerial fund projects. Notably, more than 50 SCI scientific papers have been published. The monographs written by the department staff including “Atlas of dermoscopy in pigmented and hair diseases” and “Scheme of clinical diagnosis and treatment in dermatology”, have been successfully come out.

International Collaboration

International Joint Research Project Between University of Texas Health Science Center and First Affliated Hospital, Sun Yat-Sen University. (From 2017. 08)


Currently, there are 18 staff in the department, which includes 9 senior specialists (2 professors and 7 associate professors).

Jiande Han, MMed

Professor and Chief, Doctor Supervisor, Department of Dermatology

Qian Gao, MMed

Associate Professor and Vice Chief, Master Supervisor, Department of Dermatology

Xingqi Zhang, M.D., Ph.D.

Professor and Director of teaching-research section, Department of Dermatology

Dingyang He, MBBS

Associate Professor, Department of Dermatology

Hongzhong Ling, MBBS

Associate Professor, Department of Dermatology

Qiman Liao, MMed

Associate Professor, Department of Dermatology

Guangling Cao, MBBS

Associate Professor, Department of Dermatology

Xiaohong Chen, M.D.

Associate Professor, Master Supervisor, Department of Dermatology

Mukai Chen, MMed

Associate Professor, Master Supervisor, Department of Dermatology